The small milestones

Obviously, a baby’s milestones are big deals. Their first steps, first words, first time they sleep through the night etc etc.

But now I’m starting to notice Isla’s smaller milestones that make me well up just as much.


This was the first time Isla slept under a duvet instead of her sleeping bag. She was in a sleeping bag up until she was almost 2 because she wriggles in her sleep so much, but we thought tucking her in nice and snug in a proper duvet might help keep her a bit more still. She slept absolutely fine that first night and we only had to tuck her back in once after she wriggled her legs out at about 10pm. She looked so cute I couldn’t resist taking a photo!


Then there’s the first time I watched Isla use a knife and fork. Without making a mess. We were at her best friends birthday party in July and she had some chicken nuggets with chips and peas. She not only gobbled the lot (and turned down ice cream in favour of finishing all her peas!) but used a knife and fork properly, the first time I’d seen her do it. I have to admit I did well up!

There’s also the times she’s said things that make me so proud. We’ve been teaching her to say ‘please’ and ‘thank you’ but she still needs prompting from time to time. So when I plonked a yogurt in front of her at tea time a few weeks ago, and completely unprompted, she looked up at me and said “thank you mummy!” for the first time I could have burst with pride!

I had a similar reaction last week when I was tucking her in to bed and said “night night Isla Bear, love you” and she said “love you mummy”. I just wanted to smother her with kisses!

All these things are just reminding me that she’s growing up so fast, and soon we’ll be celebrating milestones such as her first night in her big girl bedroom (stay tuned to see how that turns out!) and then before long, her first day at school. Oh god, here come the tears again…

Leave a Reply

