Gallery

Baby weight be gone!

There comes a point where you can no longer blame your extra weight on baby weight any more. For me, I said all along that this cut off point would be when Isla turned one, and now that she’s 13 months, my baby weight excuse has now expired and I’m still a stone and a half heavier than I was pre-baby.

I put on around two and a half stone when I was pregnant, and lost a stone within the first few months of Isla being born as I was breastfeeding, but the rest has settled around my midriff annoyingly and refuses to budge, so I’m wearing a size 8 top at the moment but a 12 in  trousers.

I’ve had a few issues with my extra weight. These aren’t excuses mind you, just genuine bugbears of mine. The first is that I have PCOS and that makes losing weight more difficult, plus I love my food. I freely admit I have no willpower and hate feeling hungry.

My attempts at dieting over the years have all been unsuccessful, and now I look back, completely ridiculous as I was around 8stone 10lbs and a size 8/10 before Isla was born. A very wise person said to me during this time that I’ll look back one day and realise that I never needed to diet and I’d wish to be the size I was, and they were right!

But all that’s about to change. I’m determined to lose at least a stone of this baby weight and get back to 9 stone. I’m overhauling my diet and cooking a lot of Slimming World recipes, and the house is now full of fruit and vegetables instead of crisps and chocolate.

I’m signing up to do the Wolverhampton half marathon (more on that later) and I’ve been doing some exercise videos from YouTube when Isla is napping (including the dreaded plank!) and going to the gym when she goes to nursery on Friday mornings, and now I’m working part time in retail, being on my feet for hours at a time helps too. 

I’ve bought some snazzy workout gear, including some funky leggings as you can see. Those blue dip dye leggings and grey stripy legging were a steal from George at Asda for £7 each in the sale, and the crop top was only £5.99 from New Look. This crop top has also become my motivation as I’d like to look like Kate Hudson does in her Fabletics gear! Consider this my “before” image!

Leave a Reply

