The Old Life vs The New Life

Me as a party girl back in 2012


This morning I was thinking back to my life BC (before child), and I wondered if I would trade this life for that? 
I have to admit, yes there are certain aspects of my life I’d like to have back. My figure for a start. I was a size 8 BC and I’d love to look like this in my LBD again. While I’m still a size 8 top, I haven’t been able to get rid of my mummy tummy due to my reluctance to stop eating chocolate and carbs so I’m a size 12 in jeans now.  I’d happily keep my bigger boobs though! While my boobs have gone from a pre-baby 32B to a 34DD (while I was pregnant and breastfeeding they were huge!) now they’ve settled into a reasonable 34B/C. I was also lucky enough to not get any stretchmarks.

As awful as this sounds, I also miss my freedom. Weekends back then either consisted of visits to  Hubs or my family, nights out with friends or date nights with Hubs. Now we very rarely have date nights out as we live so far away from our family who can babysit. Nights out are very rare because I frankly can’t afford it now I’m only working a few hours a week and also I can’t be doing with hangovers  when I’m chasing after Isla!

Also trips out, however brief, have to be planned with military organisation. Even for a quick trip to the shop I have to check the changing bag to make sure there’s enough nappies, wipes, a drink, snacks and a change of clothes for Isla just in case. Also as mentioned in a previous post, I have to try and schedule any sojourns out of the house around her naps. 

Sometimes, the amount of responsibility involved in raising Isla overwhelms me. There are times when I feel like I’m still a naive 22 year old, and how can I be responsible for bringing up and caring for a tiny child? I have to remind myself that I’m nearly 30, married with a baby and a mortgage. 

But all it takes is one look at my beautiful baby girl and I know I wouldn’t change it for the world!

One thought on “The Old Life vs The New Life

  1. Pingback: Little things to make me feel less mumsy  | Mum learning the ropes

Leave a Reply

